Freight News, Sea

New Port Commissioners, Re-elected Commissioner Sworn-in at Port of Palm Beach

[ January 11, 2023   //   ]

Three Port Commissioners were sworn into office this week.

On January 3, 2023 newly elected Port Commissioner for Group 5 Dr. Deandre Poole took the oath of office in a private ceremony alongside his wife Stephanie Poole.

Dr. Poole is a native of West Palm Beach and a graduate of Suncoast High School located in the City of Riviera Beach. He serves as a University Instructor, Coordinator for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion for the School of Communication and Multimedia Studies at Florida Atlantic University.

In addition, Dr. Poole currently serves as President of the United Faculty of Florida— FAU Chapter, Board Secretary for the Scholastic Achievement Foundation of Palm Beach County, Urban League of Palm Beach County Guild Member, and is a member of the Martin Luther King, Jr. Coordinating Committee. Dr. Poole served on the Audit Committee for the Port, served as a member of the Sales-Surtax Advisory Committee and Chaired the Criminal Justice Advisory Committee for the City of West Palm Beach.

“I ran for the Port because I believe with the right leadership, the Port can continue to be an economic engine in Palm Beach County, and be put in a solid position to find additional opportunities for revenue growth and the creation of even more sustainable local jobs for the community,” Commissioner Dr. Poole said.

Re-elected Commissioner Blair Ciklin, who is also the longest serving Commissioner on the board, was sworn in by the Port of Palm Beach District Clerk Beatrice Greffin on January 3, 2023.

Both Ciklin and Dr. Poole were elected during the November 8th general election and will serve four-year terms.

Newly appointed Commissioner for Group 2 Varisa Lall Dass was officially sworn-in early Thursday morning.