Air, Freight News

New leadership for Atlas Air Worldwide

[ July 17, 2019   //   ]

Atlas Air Worldwide Holdings, Inc. recently announced that President and CEO William J. (Bill) Flynn will retire from the company effective Jan. 1, 2020, after a successful 13-year tenure, and become Chairman of the Board on that date.
The board has appointed John W. Dietrich, current Executive Vice President and COO, as. Flynn’s successor. Dietrich will become president and COO effective immediately, and he will retain the role as President when he assumes the role of CEO on Jan. 1, 2020.
Additionally, Robert F. Agnew, current Chairman of the Board, will become the Board’s Lead Independent Director, effective Jan. 1, 2020.
The transitions and appointments are the culmination of a comprehensive succession process led by the board to ensure strong leadership continuity as the company continues to advance its strategic growth agenda. Continuing to serve on the Senior Leadership Team are Michael Steen, Executive Vice President and CCO, and President and CEO of Titan Aviation Holdings, Inc.; Spencer Schwartz, EVP and CFO; Adam Kokas, EVP, General Counsel and Secretary; and Patricia Goodwin-Peters, Senior Vice President, Human Resources.
“One of our key responsibilities as a board is the implementation of a leadership transition plan to ensure the company’s continued success in the future,” said Mr. Agnew. “Given John’s depth of experience and proven track record of performance, we are confident that he is uniquely suited to take on the Chief Executive Officer role and lead Atlas into its next growth phase.
“On behalf of the board, I want to thank Bill for his extraordinary leadership. He has built a company that is more dynamic, more profitable, and better-positioned to deliver continued success. Under his leadership, we have grown our fleet, diversified our service offerings, broadened our customer base, and developed a world-class team of talented, customer-focused employees. Bill is well-prepared to have a significant impact as Chairman of the Board.”