Freight News, Sea

CMA CGM to revamp Indian Ocean Feeder Network

[ November 29, 2016   //   ]

Starting December 16th, 2016, CMA CGM has chosen to revamp its feeder network to Indian Ocean to reinforce its quality, reliability and frequency. The offering of two separate products dedicated to Comoros/Mozambique market and North Madagascar will strengthen our competitiveness.

The new Indian Ocean Feeder Loop 3 service, deploying 1 vessel of 618 TEU, will be exclusively dedicated to Comoros and Nacala, Mozambique, via Longoni hub (Mayotte).

Main features will be the following:
• Improved frequency to Moroni and Mutsamudu, offering fortnightly calls with a gain of 7 days transit time. Moroni will be reached in 33 days from Fos, 36 days from Le Havre and 39 days from Antwerp.
• Nacala transfer call will permit an increased operational and cost excellence on Swahili service. Significant improvement of transit time up to 14 days to Nacala from India, Middle East Gulf, Europe.

In parallel, the current Comoros call on Indian Ocean feeder will be discontinued as from m/v KIRIA voy. 033JFR. Last call to Moroni on December 6th, 2016 and Mutsamudu on December 9th, 2016. Nacala call on Swahili service will be stopped from December 9th, 2016 with m/v CMA CGM OKAPI voy. 1502SN.

New Indian Ocean Feeder Loop 3 service port coverage will be the following:
Longoni – Mutsamudu – Moroni – Nacala – Longoni

In addition to Indian Ocean Feeder Loop 3, CMA CGM is pleased to introduce the several sets of priorities taken to increase the service reliability to North Madagascar with its Indian Ocean Feederservice:
• Majunga port will be served on a 21-day frequency instead of monthly as from January 27th, 2017. It will be reached from Le Havre in 34 days, Nhava Sheva in 26 days and Jebel Ali in 14 days.
• Other North Madagascar ports are served on a regular basis. From Fos to Nossi Be in 36 days, to Antsiranana (Diego Suarez) in 55 days and to Vohemar in 42 days.

Indian Ocean Feeder service new port coverage will be the following:
Longoni – Majunga – Nossi Be – Antsiranana (Diego Suarez) – Vohemar – Pointe des Galets – Port Louis – Longoni